Top of the Rockies and Region 9 conference 2018 overview

Society of Professional Journalists Region 9 winners and finalists in the Mark of Excellence contest were announced April 21, 2018 at the Excellence in the Rockies conference on the Auraria campus in Denver.

The 2017 contest for collegiate journalists in Colorado, Utah, New Mexico and Wyoming attracted 359 entries, an increase over the 253 entries the previous year. Certificates for the 119 winners and finalists were distributed at the April 21 MOE awards luncheon.

The list of Region 9 winners and finalists is posted here: Judging_result_vertical2111174542(2018-03-14).

Schools represented by winners/finalists:

Adams State University, Arapahoe Community College, Brigham Young University, Colorado College, Community College of Denver, Colorado Mesa University, Colorado State University-Fort Collins, Colorado State University-Pueblo, Laramie County Community College, Metropolitan State University-Denver, New Mexico State University, University of Colorado-Boulder, University of New Mexico, University of Utah, Utah State University, Utah Valley University, and Weber State University.

One hundred and five students, faculty and professional journalists plus more than two dozen speakers attended the two-day conference, which began April 20 with half-day sessions on Facebook and Google training.

Conference sponsors included the Metropolitan State University of Denver Department of Journalism and Technical Communication, the Univeristy of Colorado-Boulder College of Media, Communication and Information, Colorado Freedom of Information Coalition, Rio Grande SPJ Pro Chapter, Utah Headliners SPJ Pro Chapter, and the journalism/mass communication departments at Colorado State University-Pueblo, University of Northern Colorado and Colorado State University-Fort Collins.

SPJ National Conference 4.20-21.18
Reporting on Sexual Harassment was the first session on April 21 at the SPJ Region 9 Excellence in the Rockies conference on the Auraria campus in Denver. From left: Moderator Corey Hutchins of the Columbia Journalism Review, Colorado Politics chief legislative reporter Marianne Goodland, KUNC public radio capitol reporter Bente Birkeland, KUNC news director Michael de Yoanna, Arapahoe Community College The Arapahoe Pinnacle managing editor Emily Langenberg. (Photo by Justine Suzanne Johnson)
Freelance journalists Julian Rubinstein, left, Rachel Sturtz and Steve Knopper discuss the various stories they’ve had published in national publications at the April 21 Freelancing 101 session.(Photo by Justine Suzanne Johnson)
From left: Ashley Schaerfl of Colorado State University-Pueblo, Auraria SPJ Chapter members Rebecca Ramos and Desiree Gillespie, and Fort Collins Coloradoan reporter Kelly Ragan discuss challenges they’ve faced at the April 21 Campus Coverage Roundtable. (Photo by Justine Suzanne Johnson)

The SPJ Colorado Pro chapter thanks the following for their support of and work on the conference:

–Shaun Schafer, chair, Metropolitan State University of Denver Journalism and Technical Communication Department
–Kristi Strother, journalism chair, Community College of Denver
Auraria Campus SPJ Chapter members:
–Angel Rivera
–Kaitlin Quinn
–Desiree Gillespie
–Claudia Tena Guzman
–Jonathan Hidalgo
–Justine Johnson
–Alexandra Gaddison
–Rebecca Ramos
–Todd Smith
–Veronica Holyfield
–Krystn Powers